CPR: 30 years later?

by Cindy Kane, Director of Student Involvement and Leadership

The last time I had CPR related training was when I was about twelve years old and decided to take one of those babysitting courses that was offered by a local agency with a name that escapes my foggy brain. I remember thinking that “sitting through” the course was something I had to do to get this project done and that working with the plastic people was the most hilarious thing I can remember.  I had no idea why I was there or why it would be a smart idea to listen up and pay attention. (Needless to say, babysitting was not my gig. Luckily, I have grown up a bit before becoming a mom!) 

I remember thinking back then, “what if something DID happen?”  My solution then was to just not do babysitting anymore.  This way, I wouldn’t have to be responsible.

I enrolled in the AED “Heartsaver” course offered over Spring Break by our Professional Development Committee for a variety of reasons.  My most profound reason was my son, who scares the living daylights out of me on a regular basis as he shovels in food at the dinner table.  The child can’t figure out an appropriate portion!  Other reasons for signing up included an interest in wanting to be helpful in the event of problems at events on campus and a general concern for the well-being of my coworkers and friends, too.

Taking the course thirty years later, the plastic people still make me giggle. However, the thoughts in my head are certainly different.  I think about friends and coworkers who are concerned about their health and also about those who have been saved by someone who was willing to step up and help.  “If faced with the need to step in, would I?” That question comes with a degree of fear but a degree of reassurance now that BSU has offered me the chance to get this type of education.  The potential of “what if?” is always a nagging one in today’s day and age with so much to plan for in the name of preparation for emergencies. 

After spending the time with my colleagues today I realize that the CPR training was not as complex as it first seemed and that even the most basic intervention on behalf of someone in distress may save their life.

Three hours on an afternoon during Spring Break could have been spent organizing that overflowing email “In Box” or spending it at this course.  I think I made the right decision.  Thanks, BSU Police!

About cindykane

Director of @BSUInvolved and interested in leadership and professional development strategies. Mom, scholar-practitioner, looking to make an impact! http://www.linkedin.com/in/CindyWKane
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to CPR: 30 years later?

  1. Cindy, Thank you for this post! I think it is excellent to take an interest in this type of training. You would be surprised how quickly you are able to respond to assist someone in need now that you have the confidence this training likely provided to you. I have had to help a friend that was chocking before at my dinner table, it really is an instinct thanks to the amazing training. I hope you never have to use it, but I am certain if you do you will certainly take helpful action.

    Erin

Leave a Reply

