Student What??

This was an actual conversation…  While shopping, I ran into an old high school friend that I haven’t seen well, since high school.

“Yes, it’s me, Amanda.  How are you?  Its been so long! What have you been up to since high school?”

“Well, I’m a hairdresser, still living in (our hometown), I married (the high school football captain). What about you, what do you do now?”

“Well, I married (my high school/middleschool sweetheart) and I work in Student Affairs at Bridgewater State University.”

“Wait, that really happens?”

…. (staring with a very confused face – is she asking about people marrying the person they dated in high school?)… “What really happens?”

“Well, I guess it happens if it’s your work.  What do you have to do when they get caught?”

… (I think I get what she thinks I do, but not quite sure)… “Who gets caught?”

“Well, the students and professors – do they lose their jobs and get kicked out of school, are you the one that gets to investigate it?”

yes, she definitely thinks I handle extra-marital affairs with students!  I thought it was hard explaining to my mom what I do… this one was much worse!!

Just a little Student Affairs story to lift your spirits today!! Enjoy your day!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

