A Chance to Connect/Network/Learn and become a part of Social Justice – sign me up!

When I attended my first Office of Institutional Diversity Lucheon, I had no idea what I was getting involved in.  Now that I have completed a whole semester’s worth of luncheon sessions, I can look back and say that I have actually changed because of my attendance.

You might not notice the change by just looking at me, but you might get a feel for it when talking to me.  I am a little more aware of the needs of others, and I might bring those needs to your attention.  I pay attention to the way society might box people in, and I voice my thoughts about that (when appropriate of course).  Most importantly, I am aware and I want to learn more.  I have learned so much in just one semester – on a topic in which I would have said I was already well versed!  And I want to learn more!

Lucky for me, there are more luncheons planned for the summer and next semester.  Lucky for you too!

Even if you feel like you know all there is to know about diversity, social justice, oppression and marginalization of others – you will benefit from these luncheons.  In addition to an exchange of knowledge, a deep discussion, personal sharing and reflecting; these lunches offer a wonderful opportunity to connect, network, learn and grow with collegues with whom you might not regularly have the opportunity to work.

 

Check out their site for info about the upcoming Lunchtime Summer and Fall Series: https://my.bridgew.edu/departments/InstDiversity/SitePages/Home.aspx

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

