Strengths Spotlight: Competition

By Dave Tice, Criminal Justice major

Top 5: Adaptability, Restorative, Competition, Communication and Command

Screen Shot 2015-12-04 at 8.36.30 PMStarting this blog post was difficult for me. Not because I didn’t have much to say or because I don’t enjoy writing. It was because I was determined to ensure that when I was finished with this post, it would be of the same quality as all the other posts in the series or maybe even a little better. I read almost every other post in the series to see how the other authors had formatted their posts. How much had they written? What style of writing did they use? What could I do to make my post equal to theirs in content or maybe even stand out a little? This is what lies at the heart and soul of Competition. It is constantly comparing your performance to that of those around you working on similar tasks. It is a feeling that no matter how much you succeed, if you do not stand out from the crowd or come out on top, then there was no substantial victory. To put it simply; those of us with Competition in our top 5 have one single goal; to win.

This drive for excellence has served me very well during my time at BSU. When I took on the role of Student Orientation Coordinator for the New Student and Family Programs office, I had some pretty big shoes to fill. The student leaders that came before me did an excellent job in the role and had lead their staffs to pretty high levels of success. I was determined to do the same and then some. I knew that I had to do the same. I knew that when my time in the position was over I wanted people to look back at my staff and see our successes. But more than that I wanted those successes to be equivalent to, or surpass those of my predecessors. This drive pushed my performance and level of effort in the preparation and execution of my position from start to finish. A motivation like this is amazing because it isn’t one that lasts for a day or a week. It is like an itch day in and day out to consistently do better than I had the day before. It drove me to look at what those that had come before me had done and how I could use, adjust and improve upon their methods. Having Competition in my top five is a motivational tool that is difficult to ignore. However at times, it can definitely fall into the realm of “too much of a good thing”

Competition, while being very motivational, can also get a little out of hand at times too. Sometimes it can cause me to take smaller things far too seriously simply because it is a competition. Over-competitiveness is a trap that is easy to fall into and can occasionally dig a hole that is difficult to get out of. Over the years I have had to learn how to take what I would consider losing in stride and not let it bog me down. I have had to learn that not coming out on top or being the best does not necessarily mean a job wasn’t well done. It is just an opportunity to look back at everything I did, adjust, improve and try again. The best thing I can recommend for those who have Competition in their top five and struggle with over-competitiveness is that the best goal you can set for yourself is not to be better than the person next to you, but to be better than the person that you were yesterday.

 

About cindykane

Director of @BSUInvolved and interested in leadership and professional development strategies. Mom, scholar-practitioner, looking to make an impact! http://www.linkedin.com/in/CindyWKane
This entry was posted in Strengths, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

