Strengths Spotlight: Relator

by Dr. Roopa Rawjee, Director – International Student and Scholar Services

Top 5: 13497957_10156994785485150_6802467246397068746_oRelator, Strategic, Learner, Arranger, Restorative

I see myself as a “people person.” I am warm, friendly and easy going and this seems to be the first thing people notice about me. I can make people feel comfortable right away. I am also sensitive and intuitive, so I can read body language, emotions, and between the lines. So my interactions with people are friendly, respectful and insightful.

Prior to coming to BSU I had studied and worked on a large campus in California. I was used to a depersonalized, highly professional work environment where emails were the preferred means of communication and hierarchy and bureaucracy helped to maintain and preserve order. I was not used to having people, especially cabinet members pick up the phone and call me directly. I was taken aback by the warm welcomes I received from some of my new colleagues and it took me a while to adjust to the warmth of a smaller campus. Soon I found that my strength as a relator was an asset. I had used StrengthsQuest on my previous campus, so I understood and was able to see what would facilitate my adjustment. I reached out to colleagues to meet me for a coffee or lunch meeting. I felt comfortable and safe when expressing my questions or concerns to my colleagues. As I continue to grow and work at BSU, I feel comfortable in groups, sometimes I am the person to ease a tense situation, or help a colleague to see a different perspective, or frame a conversation in a non-judgmental, non-threatening context. My colleagues on and off campus tell me that “I tell it like it is” and often reach out to brainstorm or confide in me. The challenge with this is that sometimes I feel that I am perceived as a “social butterfly,” especially by my male colleagues.

As I continue to grow as a professional, an educator and human being, I find that I utilize this talent a lot and in many different ways. I am growing into a valuable mentor for colleagues on and off campus. I have always been a good teacher and am very comfortable with students of all ages both in and outside the classroom. I provide strong co-curricular education and can make effective connections between theory and practice. As a friend, partner, daughter, I am accepting and respectful of the people I care about and I am able to communicate without making the other person defensive, or getting into an argument or fight. I find that I get better results this way and it has become more effortless over time because I have learned to recognize and work with my talent. I have also grown more comfortable with the concept of appearing vulnerable or showing the “softer side of me.”

I offer you peace.
I offer you love.
I offer you friendship.
I see your beauty.
I hear your need.
I feel your feelings.
My wisdom flows from the Highest Source.
I salute that Source in you.
Let us work together for unity and love.

–Mahatma Gandhi

About cindykane

Director of @BSUInvolved and interested in leadership and professional development strategies. Mom, scholar-practitioner, looking to make an impact! http://www.linkedin.com/in/CindyWKane
This entry was posted in Strengths and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

